Translating Manufacturer's J1939 information

• Software
  • Translating Manufacturer's J1939 information
Phil Gooch

Posted on 27.06.2016 03:40

This is my first attempt to receive data from a vehicle with Dewesoft, using information supplied by a vehicle manufacturer. I have previously used ODB-II which was of course easy with the Dewesoft plugin.

Attached is the information that the manufacturer has supplied. The format of this does not align perfectly with the terminology of fields used in Dewesoft. Having gone through the tutorials several times I'm not sure I'm doing this correctly.

How should I configure dewesoft so that I can retrieve "Engine Speed".

Is the "PGN" column the same thing as "Arb.ID" ?

I have attached some sample data which I recorded from the vehicle. During this acquisition the vehicle was stationary but running and I increased the engine RPM occasionally.

Also attached is a screenshot of how I am trying to setup Dewesoft to read Engine RPM.

The fields have been populated based on the following, which may not be correct!

• Arb. ID# - I have assumed this is the PGN from the vehicle manufacturer
  • DLC - I have used 8 because there are 8 bytes
  • Start bit - I used 5 because Engine Speed is byte #5
  • Length - I used 7 because there are 7 bits for engine speed

I have now set a simple gauge in design mode for "Engine RPM", recalculated the data and the gauge does not move from zero when I Play the data in review.

Phil Gooch

Posted on 27.06.2016 03:51

My previous screen grab did not include all of the bytes for this PGN - Here they are now.

Stefan Jaik

Posted on 27.06.2016 22:33

Is the CANbis baud-rate correct? When you activate "scan" in Dewesoft you should see raw data under ID CF00400.

In the manufacturer doku "engine_speed" starts at bit 24 and lenghts (DLC) is 16bit.

Scaling (Offset and Factor) is the secret of the manufacturer. Can you ask them to disclosure this inmormation?

DEWESoft Support
Technical support